Encyclopaedia of Islam, First Edition (1913-1936)

Get access

(2,516 words)

Wadāʾi or Waddāʾi, also called Bergu or Borgu and Dār-Ṣāliḥ, lies to the west of Dār-Fūr from which it is separated by the provinces of Tama, Mara, Masalit and Sila, which have in the past been politically dependent sometimes on Dār-Fūr and sometimes on Wadāʾi according to the fortune of war. The boundaries of Wadāʾi in other directions are not very precise; the kingdom at its greatest extent at the height of its power did not stretch beyond Kuti on the south, Fitri on the west, Ennedi and the …

Cite this page
Delafosse, Maurice, “Wadāʾi”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, First Edition (1913-1936), Edited by M. Th. Houtsma, T.W. Arnold, R. Basset, R. Hartmann. Consulted online on 27 November 2020 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/2214-871X_ei1_SIM_5926>
First published online: 2012
First print edition: ISBN: 9789004082656, 1913-1936

▲   Back to top   ▲