Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition

Get access

al-Imārāt al-ʿArabiyya al-Muttaḥida
(2,583 words)

(the United Arab Amirates), the federation of seven shaykhdoms of the lower Gulf, formerly known as the Trucial States, inaugurated on 14 S̲h̲awwāl 1391/2 December 1971. The member states are Abū Ẓabī (Abū D̲h̲abī), Dubayy, al-S̲h̲āriḳa (S̲h̲ārd̲j̲a), ʿAd̲j̲mān, Umm al-Ḳaywayn, Raʾs al-Ḵh̲ayma and Fud̲j̲ayra. The federation’s total area is about 30,000 square miles and its population (180,226 at the 1968 census) has been variously estimated, in the absence of reliable statistics, at anything between 320,000 and 700,000, mostly concentrated in Abū Ẓabī and Dubayy shaykhdoms.


Cite this page
Kelly, J. B., “al-Imārāt al-ʿArabiyya al-Muttaḥida”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, Edited by: P. Bearman, Th. Bianquis, C.E. Bosworth, E. van Donzel, W.P. Heinrichs. Consulted online on 19 January 2021 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/1573-3912_islam_SIM_8697>
First published online: 2012
First print edition: ISBN: 9789004161214, 1960-2007

▲   Back to top   ▲