Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE

Get access

(355 words)

The ʿAbābda, who live between the Nile Valley and Red Sea coast of Egypt, are the northernmost tribe of the six subgroups of the Beja (Ar. Buja), whose other members are Ummarār, Bishārīn, Hadanduwa, Banī ʿĀmir Beja, and Banī ʿĀmir Tigre. ʿAbābda territory once included all of Egypt's northern Eastern Desert but by 1850 the Maʿāza Bedouin, originally of northwestern Arabia, drove them south to the Qifṭ-Quṣayr road, which still serves as the northern border of ʿAbābda territory. In the south, ʿAbā…

Cite this page
Hobbs, Joseph J., “ʿAbābda”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE, Edited by: Kate Fleet, Gudrun Krämer, Denis Matringe, John Nawas, Everett Rowson. Consulted online on 29 September 2020 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/1573-3912_ei3_COM_26277>
First published online: 2008
First print edition: 9789004171374, 2008, 2008-2

▲   Back to top   ▲