Search

Your search for 'dc_creator:( "Wolkenhauer, Anja" ) OR dc_contributor:( "Wolkenhauer, Anja" )' returned 16 results. Modify search

Sort Results by Relevance | Newest titles first | Oldest titles first

Glareanus, Heinrich

(517 words)

Author(s): Wolkenhauer, Anja
Loriti, Heinrich; Swiss poet, musicologist and philologist. Born June 1488 at Mollis (canton of Glarus), died Freiburg im Breisgau 27./28. 3. ¶ 1563. 1510 MA at Cologne. 25. 8. 1512 poet laureate. From 1514, language teacher at Basel; 1517–1522 teaching at Collège de France in Paris. From 1529, prof. of poetics and theology at Freiburg. Career, works and influence G. worked as a musicologist [5], teacher, poet [2]; [4] and geographer [1]. Born into a wealthy family, he attended the Stiftsschule at Bern from 1497, then from 1501 the school of Michael Rubellus (Röteli) at Rot…

Peutinger, Conrad

(438 words)

Author(s): Wolkenhauer, Anja
German Humanist, jurist and statesman. Born Augsburg 15. 10. 1465, died there 28. 12. 1547. 1479/80 studied at Basel; 1482–1488 studied in Italy; 1491 doctorate (jurisprudence) in Padua; 1493 syndic in Augsburg, 1497–1534 town clerk there; 11. 12. 1538 raised to the patrician class, then 1. 12. 1547 to the hereditary nobility by Emperor Karl V. Work and influence During his years of study in Italy (Padua, Bologna, Florence, Rome), P. came into contact with Ermolao Barbaro the Elder, Angelo Poliziano, Giovanni Pico della Mirandola and Julius Pomponius La…

Barbaro, Daniele

(427 words)

Author(s): Wolkenhauer, Anja
Daniel Barbarus; Venetian Humanist and architectural historian. Born 8. 2. 1514 (1513 according to the Venetian calendar) in Venice, died there 13. 4. 1570. 1535–1540 studied at Padua; Patriarch of Aquileia from 1550. Work and influence B. worked as a natural historian and diplomat, but especially also as an architectural historian, and he was an important force in Renaissance Vitruvian reception. He came from a noble Venetian family that produced many Humanists through the 15th and 16th cents. B. studied philosophy, mathematics a…

Manutius, Aldus

(860 words)

Author(s): Wolkenhauer, Anja
Manuzio, Aldo Pio (Latin Pius); Italian Humanist and printer. Born Bassiano (near Rome) c. 1450/52, died Venice 6. 2. 1515. 1467–1475 studied at Rome, then Ferrara. 1480– c.1490 tutor and court librarian at Carpi. Working at Venice from 1490, from 1495 as printer. Career All that is known of M.’ background and education is the little he himself reveals in his forewords. He worked as a Humanist and teacher until he was around 40 years old, and his career as printer of books began only in the last third of his life. M. studied from 1467 to …

Musurus, Marcus

(475 words)

Author(s): Wolkenhauer, Anja
Musuros, Markos; Greek Humanist, poet and translator. Born c. 1470 on Crete, died Rome ¶ 24. 10. 1517. Studied at Florence c. 1486–1494; 1505–1509 prof. of Greek at Padua. 1511–1516 prof. at Venice. 1516 titular Archbishop of Monemvasia (Greece). Work and influence As a copyist, translator, philologist, teacher and poet, M. was among the most important and versatile communicators of Greek literature in Italy. Born around 1470 in Venetian Candia (now Heraklion) on Crete, he studied at Florence from around 1486 with Janus Laskaris. After …

Muretus, Marcus Antonius

(503 words)

Author(s): Wolkenhauer, Anja
Muret, Marc Antoine; French Humanist and poet. Born Muret (Limoges) 12. 4. 1526, died Rome 4. 6. 1585. From 1551, prof. of philosophy and civil law at Paris. From 1563, prof. of philosophy, civil law and rhetoric at Rome. Holy orders 1576; Jesuit. Work and influence M.s is important for his poetic as for his philological work in equal measure. Self-taught, he was helped form an early age by Julius Caesar Scaliger, whose mediation secured him teaching posts at the colleges of Villeneuve, Poitiers ¶ and Bordeaux. It was at Bordeaux that his tragedy in the tradition of Seneca, Julius Caesar, was …

Niccoli, Niccolò

(424 words)

Author(s): Wolkenhauer, Anja
Latin Nicolaus de Niccolis; Florentine merchant, manuscript collector and copyist. Born Florence c. 1365, died there 22. 1. 1437. Work and influence Born into a wealthy Florentine mercantile family, N. was closely associated with Coluccio Salutati in the last years of the 14th cent., and became one of the first students of Manuel Chrysolaras. His circle of friends included Gian Francesco Poggio Bracciolini, N.’s alter ego (as Salutati called him in a letter of 26. 3. 1406) and the best source of information on his life through his letters [5], Lorenzo Valla, …

Alberti, Leon Battista

(852 words)

Author(s): Wolkenhauer, Anja
Italian Humanist, theoretician of architecture and mathematician. Born 14. 2. 1404 in Genoa, probably died 20. 4. 1472 in Rome. Studied at Bologna and Padua. 1432–1464 Abbreviator Apostolicus in Rome. Background and work Born – illegitimate and in Genoese exile – into a Florentine merchant family, A. spent his childhood in Genoa and Venice. He attended the school of Gasparino Barzizza at Padua 1415–1418; among his fellow pupils were Francesco Filelfo and Antonio Beccadelli (Panormita). His first Latin comedy, Philodoxeos fabula, which was long believed to be an ancient work…

Musurus, Marcus

(432 words)

Author(s): Wolkenhauer, Anja
Musuros, Markos; griech. Humanist, Dichter und Übersetzer. Geb. um 1470 auf Kreta, gest. am 24. 10. 1517 in Rom. Ca. 1486–1494 Studium in Florenz; 1505–1509 Prof. für Griechisch in Padua; 1511–1516 Prof. in Venedig; 1516 Titular-Erzbischof von Monembasia (Griechenland). Werk und Wirkung Als Kopist, Übersetzer, Philologe, Lehrer und Dichter zählte M. zu den bedeutendsten und vielseitigsten Vermittlern der griech. Literatur in Italien. Um 1470 im venez. Candia auf Kreta geboren, studierte er ab etwa 1486 in Florenz bei Janos Laskaris. N…

Manutius, Aldus

(762 words)

Author(s): Wolkenhauer, Anja
Manuzio, Aldo Pio (lat. Pius); ital. Humanist und Buchdrucker. Geb. um 1450/52 in Bassiano (nahe Rom), gest. am 6. 2. 1515 in Venedig. 1467–1475 Studium in Rom, danach in Ferrara. 1480–ca.1490 Hauslehrer und Hofbibliothekar in Carpi. Ab 1490 in Venedig tätig, ab 1495 als Drucker. Werdegang Über M.’ Herkunft und Bildungsgang ist nur das Wenige bekannt, was er selbst in seinen Vorreden mitteilt. Bis zum Alter von etwa 40 Jahren trat er als Humanist und Lehrer in Erscheinung; seine Karriere als Buchdrucker begann erst im letzten Lebensdritte…

Alberti, Leon Battista

(821 words)

Author(s): Wolkenhauer, Anja
Ital. Humanist, Architekturtheoretiker und Mathematiker. Geb. am 14. 2. 1404 in Genua, gest. vermutlich am 20. 4. 1472 in Rom. Studium in Bologna und Padua. 1432–1464 Abbreviator Apostolicus in Rom. Werdegang und Werk Aus einer Florentiner Kaufmannsfamilie stammend, wurde A. unehelich im Genueser Exil geboren; seine Kindheit verbrachte er in Genua und Venedig. 1415–1418 besuchte er die Schule des Gasparino Barzizza in Padua; zu seinen Mitschülern gehörten u. a. Francesco Filelfo und Antonio Beccadelli (Panormita). Während s…

Niccoli, Niccolò

(384 words)

Author(s): Wolkenhauer, Anja
Lat. Nicolaus de Niccolis; florent. Kaufmann, Handschriftensammler und Kopist. Geb. um 1365 in Florenz, gest. am 22. 1. 1437 ebda. Werk und Wirkung Aus einer reichen Florentiner Kaufmannsfamilie stammend, schloss N. sich in den letzten Jahren des 14. Jh.s eng an Coluccio Salutati an und wurde zu einem der ersten Schüler von Manuel Chrysolaras. Zu seinen Freunden gehörten Gian Francesco Poggio Bracciolini, N.s alter ego (wie Salutati ihn in einem Brief vom 26. 3. 1406 nannte) und mit den Briefen der beste biographische Zeuge [5], Lorenzo Valla, Leonardo Br…

Barbaro, Daniele

(390 words)

Author(s): Wolkenhauer, Anja
Daniel Barbarus; venez. Humanist und Architekturhistoriker. Geb. am 8. 2. 1514 (1513 nach venez. Kalender) in Venedig, gest. am 13. 4. 1570 ebda. 1535–1540 Studium in Padua; ab 1550 Patriarch von Aquileia. Werk und Wirkung B. wirkte als Naturforscher und Diplomat, v. a. aber als Architekturhistoriker und maßgeblicher Förderer der Vitruv-Rezeption der Renaissance. Er stammte aus einer venez. Adelsfamilie, aus der im 15. und 16. Jh. zahlreiche Humanisten hervorgingen. B. studierte Philosophie, Mathematik und Optik [5], der sein…

Muretus, Marcus Antonius

(455 words)

Author(s): Wolkenhauer, Anja
Muret, Marc Antoine; franz. Humanist und Dichter. Geb. am 12. 4. 1526 in Muret (bei Limoges), gest. am 4. 6. 1585 in Rom. Ab 1551 Prof. für Philosophie und Zivilrecht in Paris; ab 1563 Prof. für Philosophie, Zivilrecht und Rhetorik in Rom; 1576 Priesterweihe; Jesuit. Werk und Wirkung M.s Bedeutung liegt gleichermaßen in seiner poetischen wie in seiner philol. Tätigkeit. Der Autodidakt wurde früh von Julius Caesar Scaliger gefördert, durch dessen Vermittlung er an den Kollegien von Villeneuve, Poitiers und Bordeaux lehrte. Hier wurde seine…

Peutinger, Conrad

(392 words)

Author(s): Wolkenhauer, Anja
Dt. Humanist, Jurist und Staatsmann. Geb. am 15. 10. 1465 in Augsburg, gest. am 28. 12. 1547 ebda. 1479/80 Studium in Basel; 1482–1488 Studium in Italien; 1491 Prom. (Jurisprudenz) in Padua; 1493 Syndikus in Augsburg, 1497–1534 Stadtschreiber ebda; 11. 12. 1538 Erhebung in den Patrizierstand, 1. 12. 1547 Erhebung in den erblichen Adel durch Kaiser Karl V. Werk und Wirkung Während seiner Studienjahre in Italien (Padua, Bologna, Florenz, Rom) kam P. in Kontakt mit Ermolao Barbaro d. Ä., Angelo Poliziano, Giovanni Pico della Mirandola und Julius Pomp…

Glareanus, Heinrich

(462 words)

Author(s): Wolkenhauer, Anja
Loriti, Heinrich; schweizer. Dichter, Musiktheoretiker und Philologe. Geb. im Juni 1488 in Mollis (Kanton Glarus), gest. am 27./28. 3. 1563 in Freiburg i.Br. 1510 M. A. in Köln; 25. 8. 1512 Dichterkrönung; ab 1514 Sprachlehrer in Basel; 1517–1522 Lehre am Pariser Collège de France. Ab 1529 Prof. für Poetik und Theologie in Freiburg i.Br. Werdegang, Werk und Wirkung G. wirkte als Musiktheoretiker [5], Lehrer, Dichter [2]; [4] und Geograph [1]. Aus einer wohlhabenden Familie stammend, besuchte er ab 1497 die Stiftsschule Bern, ab 1501 die Schule von…